The Incredible Burt Wonderstone (2013)

I never got to see this part of the film…

Things aren’t going well. This is the second film in a row I have stopped watching early. This time however I did manage to get 35 minutes into the film.

So why did I stop watching? Simply because I wasn’t enjoying it. The humour seemed too obvious and as a result not funny. Add to that an unlikeable main character (Burt Wonderstone played by Steve Carell) and a predictable story arc (I would guess the main character becomes more likeable). There seemed little point in continuing. I did like the jokes at the expense of magicians like David Blaine – the idea that these days people would rather watch a guy stand in a box for 30 days than watch a proper trick. But that’s all there was.

Jim Carrey’s in this film – it’s been a while since I’ve seen him in one. He plays a trendy new magician called Steve Gray  who wasn’t very funny either but he did at least have a good line : Burt Wonderstone wants to tell him about an idea for a show  and Carrey says :  “I’ll tell you what, pretend I’m still here and tell me all about it”, and then he drives off in his van. I’m now going to do something similar and pretend that I watched the rest of this film and it was exactly like the first 35 minutes. Fairly crap…

2/10

Leave a Reply

